Single Servings

Cooking for a single person

Welcome to Single Servings/Creamy Cheesy Potatoes

Posted by zerfall on December 26, 2008

Welcome to single servings. This blog is where I am going to document my culinary experiences from now on. I’ll be posting on new recipes that I try as well as ways that I find make cooking for one easier for me.  I’ll also be posting about things that I’ve made to bring in to work and wow my co-workers, and things that have been successful at dinner parties I’ve had (hopefully this blog will inspire me to have my friends over for dinner a little more often in the new year.

Seeing how it’s the season for dinner with your friends and family and that I’ve had the request for this recipe from several of my friend that came to my Christmas dinner party I figured it would be the best one to kick things off with. This is one I got from the kitchn: Creamy Cheesy Potatoes. I am including the recipe with the alterations I made due to what I had and what I thought my friends would like, but full credit still goes to the original creator.

Creamy Cheesy Potatoes
serves 8

6-8 Potatoes
1 can condensed cream of celery soup
1/2 cup Sour Cream
125g or 1/2 package Cream Cheese (softened)
1 cup Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese (divided)
1/4 cup Sliced Scallions
1/4 cup Milk
3 tbls Chopped Fresh Parsley
2 medium or 1 large Clove(s) of Garlic
1 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Pepper

Peal and chop the potatoes into small cubes, then cook them in a pot filled with enough boiling salted water to cover them until they are tender (about 10 minutes). As they are cooking preheat your oven to 350°F or 180°C.

Mix the soup, sour cream and cream cheese a 2 qt. (or 2 liter) baking dish. Stir in 3/4 of a cup of the grated cheese, scallions, milk, garlic, salt, and pepper. Once combined stir in the potatoes. (If your baking dish isn’t large enough to accomplish this in, you can mix everything in a large bowl before hand and transfer it to the baking dish after. I don’t have a dish washer so anything that save me from doing a dish later is how I like to do thing ;) ).

Sprinkle the remaining grated cheese on the top of the potatoes and bake in the oven for 25 to 30 minutes until it’s heated though.

These potatoes are great, and they taste just as good the next day, if you manage to have any leftovers. If you really like garlic don’t be afraid to add a little more or take some away if you aren’t such a fan. Remember that recipes are pretty much just guides and you can always add or take away thing that you like or don’t like.

Your probably noticed the use of metric measurements in this post, that because I am from Canada, and it is a super pain to go to the store to try and find 4oz of something if you don’t know the conversion off hand. However if you just write something like “150ml in oz” into google the answer pops right up. I will also be posting a chart soon and have it linked to on the side of my page for anyone that needs it.

Michael

Leave a Reply

 
